The Michele Tansella Award

Apply Today!

Michele Tansella was a pioneer in the field of epidemiological psychiatry and the field of mental health service evaluation. He contributed to these fields as a distinguished scientist throughout his life. The Michele Tansella Award of € 2000 is provided every two years on the occasion of the World Psychiatric Association Section meetings on Epidemiology and Public Health. It will be granted to Post-doctoral researchers / early career researchers under 40 years of age from anywhere in the world. Candidates for the Michele Tansella Award will be the first authors of an outstanding publication in the field of epidemiological psychiatry, community psychiatry, or mental health service evaluation. Eligible papers will have been published in an international peer-reviewed journal in the two years preceding the application for the award. Publications in press can be considered if accompanied by a confirmation of acceptance from the publishing Journal. A panel consisting of international experts and the award donors will judge the applications submitted and select the winner.

Applicants are requested to submit the application electronically via this website

Submissions must be in English and include the following items:
  • The application form
  • The publication selected for the award application
  • The references of three other papers that the applicant considers her/his most relevant ones and a sentence for each explaining their contribution to the field
  • Two letters of support by senior referees

  • The closing deadline is June 1st, 2024
  • The winner will be notified August 1st, 2024
The winner   is expected to attend the Award ceremony held during the WPA Epidemiology and Public Health Section conference  in Bangkok 2024, and present her/his research in a 15 minute lecture. The Award fund will pay the meeting fees, but no travel to and accommodation costs to the Conference meeting.


Apply for the Michele Tansella Award 2024
 Closing Date for applications: June 1st, 2024