European Mechanics Society
An international non-governmental non-profit scientific organization

​The objective of the European Mechanics Society is to engage in all activities intended to promote the development of mechanics as a branch of science and engineering in Europe. Mechanics deals with motion, flow and deformation of matter, be it fluid or solid, under the action of applied forces, and with any associated phenomena. The society is governed by the Council whose members are being elected according to rules set in Statutes. Activities within the field of mechanics range from fundamental research on the behaviour of fluids and solids to applied research in engineering.

The approaches used comprise theoretical, analytical, computational and experimental methods.

More about EUROMECH

EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Prize

The EUROMECH Fluid Mechanics Prize is awarded biennially for important contributions to the European mechanics community. Previous recipients are Keith Moffatt (2003), Emil Hopfinger (2006), Friedrich Busse (2008), John Hinch (2010), Yves Couder (2012), Andrea Prosperetti (2014), Elizabeth Guazzelli (2016), Javier Jimenez (2018) and Uriel Frisch (2020).