University of Athens

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA) is a public university located in Athens, Greece. Inaugurated in 1837, it has been the first university in the newly established Modern Greek state, as well as in the Balkan and the Eastern Mediterranean area. Its role has been historically and socially decisive for education and promotion of cultural life in the country and beyond. When inaugurated, it comprised four Schools; Theology, Law, Medicine and the School of “Philosophy and Other Fundamental Studies” (which included applied sciences and mathematics). During its first year of operation, the institution had 33 professors, while courses were attended by 52 students and 75 non-matriculated “auditors”. Currently, the NKUA has 9 Schools and 40 Departments, the majority of which belong to the Schools. For the academic year 2019-20 the NKUA offers 41 undergraduate programs and 188 postgraduate programs leading to a Master’s or a Doctoral degree. The NKUA has 5 University Research Institutes, 3 University Hospitals, 70 Clinics and Departments under the auspices of the School of Health Sciences, 224 University Laboratories, 11 libraries, the History Museum of the University, the Historical Archive and 13 thematic museums. Furthermore, at the Modern Greek Language Teaching Center, Greek language is taught as a second/foreign language; and at the Foreign Languages Teaching Center 24 languages can be studied and special programs are available in language, translation, science of law or medicine. Finally, the University offers a Students’ Union, sports centers, special artistic groups, etc. as well as a number of counseling and support services to students and the public. NKUA is not only an Institution dedicated to education but it is also a research-intensive University. Our faculty and researchers continuously challenge the boundaries of knowledge. We provide the highest quality learning opportunities for our students embellished by the new knowledge we discover. Research & development (R&D) - individual and collective, funded and non-funded - is a priority for the academic community. Research can be also supported by grants, international and national funds, partnerships with public and private sector bodies, etc. Additionally our academic community actively participates in a multitude of scientific, cultural and social events and initiatives thus strengthening its University’s social impact. Some of the most important contributions of the University to the society include the area of national health, social solidarity, migration policy and social exclusion. Indicative initiatives are as follows: blood and bone marrow donation on a regular basis, «Social Solidarity Oncology Clinic» for patients without medical insurance with cancer, «Health for All» program ( offering medical, dental, pharmaceutical and psychosocial care for vulnerable social groups, «Solidarity Network for Refugees» offering vaccination and other initiatives, support actions such as «Parental Academies» for schools.
More information can be found here

Faculty of Geology and Geoenvironment
The Faculty of Geology and Geoenvironment is a part of the School of Sciences of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. It is the oldest faculty in the country where aspects of earth sciences have been taught and at present, it is also the biggest. Its history, with taught subjects on Mineralogy and Geology, is traced to the establishment of the University in 1839. Today the Faculty comprises six departments covering a broad range of earth science subjects. The departments are the following: a. Mineralogy and Petrology, b, Historical Geology and Palaeontology, c. Geography and Climatology, d. Geophysics and Geothermics, e. Economic Geology and f. Geochemistry and Dynamic, Tectonic and Applied Geology. It aims to prepare students for careers in environmental science, natural hazard assessment and mitigation, geotechnical engineering, exploration and exploitation of mineral and energy resources etc., and promote geoscientific research leading to academic careers in universities, research institutes and museums.
More information can be found at:

Department of Geophysics-Geothermics
The Department of Geophysics-Geothermics (DGG) of National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), was founded in 1987. Part of it is the Seismological Laboratory (SL-NKUA), which started its operation back to 1929, with main activities the training of students in Seismological aspects and the contribution to research. In the course of its activities over the years, a better understanding of the seismicity, seismotectonics, seismic hazard and seismic risk of Greece was accomplished. Several local seismic networks were deployed, monitoring the seismicity and aftershock activity and determining the seismotectonic regime of specific areas. It has long experience in being the main contractor of various research projects. Also, SL-NKUA has installed and operates its own seismic network (ATHENET), being a member of HUSN. It has installed its own strong motion network (RASMON). In addition, portable equipment (seismometers, accelerometers, recorders) are available for in situ measurements or aftershock sequences. Also, SL-NKUA informs the scientific community and the public for the seismicity in real-time and focal mechanisms of processed earthquakes are provided, while waveforms from each station are available for preview.
More information can be found at